Tags

, , , ,

No, this is not going to be the lyrics for the song. It’s a short story centered around the song. 🙂 Just so you know who wrote it, it was not Josh Groban, though his performance is extremely popular; it was written by Rolf Lovland and Brendan Graham. The copyright belongs to them. The story, however, is all my own creation. I suppose it’s at least partially AU, it falls in the line of some of my other alternate-universe stories. For one thing, it’s in the Clone Wars, yet Qui-Gon is still around…

I love Christian music… it’s my biggest continuous inspiration, and one of my complete obsessions. I think everyone else loves this song, too, whether or not they are Christian… it’s very approachable. Just like “How To Save A Life” is.

Enjoy!

You Raise Me Up

                Qui-Gon stared around the small, underground bunker. Through the busy façade, he could see the troops’ exhaustion. Everyone was tired. They had lost the battle. Everyone looked dull and dry. Out of nowhere, a voice was raised in song, soft and gentle; a simple, soulful sound.

When I am down and, oh my soul, so weary;

When troubles come and my heart burdened be;

Then, I am still and wait here in the silence,

Until you come and sit awhile with me.

                It was with some surprise that Qui-Gon realized that it was Obi-Wan’s voice. His former Padawan had a remarkable voice, Qui-Gon knew that, but it still caught him off-guard every time he heard it. The voice trembled a little, then steadied and became clearer, even though it was still quiet. A respectful silence began to replace the painful murmur of the tiny, enclosed vaults.

You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains;

You raise me up, to walk on stormy seas;

I am strong, when I am on your shoulders;

You raise me up… To more than I can be.

                Now, some of the clone troopers had stopped to listen. The silence grew, and with it grew a sense of serenity perhaps deeper than any Qui-Gon had felt since before the Clone Wars began, a deep inward peace that no Sith could ever shatter. By taking Obi-Wan as his Padawan, Qui-Gon had been given a wonderful gift. By making peace after falling out, he tried to give it back, but it turned out that Obi-Wan only have him more. Is that his destiny? Qui-Gon wondered, pondering over the true fate of the Chosen One. To give of himself until he gives himself entirely away?

You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains;

You raise me up, to walk on stormy seas;

I am strong, when I am on your shoulders;

You raise me up… To more than I can be.

                The voice was gaining in strength and power. Anakin came racing in a manner that was almost subdued across the bunker to Qui-Gon. His eyes were wide and stared into Qui-Gon’s with awe as he gripped the older man’s forearms. “What is it, Master? What is it?” His voice bore a deep urgency, a wonder more powerful than any despair. Qui-Gon smiled at him.

“It’s Obi-Wan’s way of giving us peace amid the battle,” he replied, almost in a whisper. Obi-Wan had always been able to manipulate events using nothing but his voice, inflections, tone. It was an impressive natural gift that made him a natural negotiator, the trait of a leader.

“But how? How?” Anakin asked.

“By laying his heart bare,” Qui-Gon replied simply.

There is no life—no life without its hunger;

Each restless heart beats so imperfectly;

But when you come and I am filled with wonder,

Sometimes, I think I glimpse eternity.

                A smile, like sun bursting through clouds, leaping up into a fountain of laughter from deep within, had crept into the voice; it was rich with triumph in the knowledge that no evil could ever subdue this joy; no darkness could reign forever. Qui-Gon looked at Anakin and was almost surprised to see tears in the younger man’s eyes.

You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains;

You raise me up, to walk on stormy seas;

I am strong, when I am on your shoulders;

You raise me up… To more than I can be.

                As the chorus began to ring out once more, first one voice, and then another and another joined with the first. Qui-Gon and Anakin were both singing at the top of their lungs, borne away on the waves of the endless sea of music. There was sadness and strife and pain ahead, but there was more than that. There was victory and triumph; there was joy and peace. And out of the ashes, there was resurrection.

You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains;

You raise me up, to walk on stormy seas;

I am strong, when I am on your shoulders;

You raise me up… To more than I can be.

                And then, there was silence for what seemed like a long moment. Anakin and Qui-Gon looked at each other, hope renewed. Obi-Wan’s voice rose up one last time, to seal the promise.

You raise me up… To more than I can be.

Okay, that didn’t end remotely near where it started… 😛 One way of seeing my faith in my fandoms, this is.

This partly sprang out of a conversation that I had with Iris (my best friend and fellow author.) Basically, I asked, “Since Obi-Wan is not the Chosen One, then what is his destiny?” And the obvious answer was, “Kicking Anakin’s rear back into line.” 😛 But, though that was a joke, it had an element of truth. Obi-Wan is important because he is Anakin’s anchor and moral compass. In my opinion, Obi-Wan is actually stronger than Anakin (at least, stronger of will and definitely morally stronger,) because he is able to put what he wants aside, in order to serve the people of the Republic. In the end, though, Anakin is his undoing. Obi-Wan’s allegiance is to Anakin, though he tries to put his duty ahead of that. In the end, because he won’t accept the suffering that comes his way, Anakin sentences Obi-Wan to suffer. And at the same time, Obi-Wan seals his fate with his own hand and of his own free will.

Hope you enjoyed the story! 🙂 God bless.

