Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Hello, friends. I was on Nanowrimo this morning, and I just happened to find my way, roundabout like, onto another author’s blog, where I found this questionnaire. Instantly, I was thinking, “oh, what a good idea! I am SO doing this!” And here it is, my answers to her questions:

  1. What was your first-ever piece of writing? A Robin Hood novel– my own take on the legends. It was fun, while it lasted, but now… *sigh* It has a problem with: lack of story arc, sprawling motion, pale characterizations, etc.
  2. How old were you when you first began writing? Eight or nine, maybe? Probably nine. But I didn’t start taking it really seriously until I was eleven.
  3. Name two writing goals. One short term & one long term. Short term? Catch up with these stupid Journals that I’m supposed to be editor for (the Journals are a short friendly newsletter with more stories than editorials. :-P) and actually get ahead on them. Long term? Get something I wrote published in a public venue, even if it be only over the internet as an e-book, and preferably sooner rather than later.
  4. Do you write fiction or non-fiction? Both, though I write more fiction than non. I just prefer making up my own worlds, etc…
  5. Bouncing off of question 4, what’s your favorite genre to write in? I like writing historical fiction, fantasy, science fiction… and preferably a combination of the last two, or all three! ;-P
  6. One writing lesson you’ve learned since 2013 began. Sometimes flowery wording just won’t cut it… though it does add to your Nano word count.
  7. Favorite author, off the top of your head! Probably J.R.R. Tolkien, though I also like a lot of other authors… 😛
  8. Three current favorite books. Ummm…. Let’s see. The Scarlet Pimpernel, by Baroness Orczy, The Lord of the Rings by Tolkien, and A Swiftly Tilting Planet by Madeleine L’Engle. In no particular order ;-P
  9. Biggest influence on your writing {person}: My mother, and my best friend Iris. Iris is my kindred spirit and Earth Angel. Unlike me, she has a whole bunch of usernames. She’s known as “Irisbloom5” on Nanowrimo, “AnotherBook” on Fanfiction, and “Daylee15” on lego.com and/or Wikia. She and I have been writing together for about three years now. And Mom… sometimes little brothers are confusing or just plain don’t cut it (sorry, Sprite!) but Mom is always good for a review. She’s always been there for me, and I am absolutely going to dedicate my first published novel to her in an attempt to express my gratitude.
  10. What’s your go-to writing music? The Lord of the Rings Musical. Yes, there is a musical. 😀 It was in Britain and received mixed reviews. The tour through America was cancelled, though. :’-( And then there are the movie soundtracks by Howard Shore… and I would have others, had I more soundtracks. ;-P
  11. List three to five writing quirks of yours! Little habits, must-haves as you write, etc. Music, tea, occasionally a walk or bike ride, fresh air, and email or Nanomail. 😉
  12. What, in three sentences or less, does your writing mean to you? It keeps me sane, to be honest. Otherwise, my life would be unbearably dull. And it’s also very satisfying. You should really get out and try it! 😉
