Tags

, , , , ,

Okay, this was inspired by a quote from… somewhere in Star Wars… I don’t know where… But I think this is the full version.

“The crystal is the heart of the blade.

The heart is the crystal of the Jedi.

The Jedi is the crystal of the Force.

The Force is the blade of the heart.”

I may be wrong; it’s perfectly possible that there is more. Anyway, this small mention of the Force being the blade of the heart inspired me. Though, this is technically not exactly a Star Wars story… It could be compatible with any fandom, really. Who knows? This might even be Elrond’s thoughts as he prepares to defend Rivendell against the Shadow. Or it could stand alone.

Enjoy!

The Blade of the Heart

Against the dark for one moment to stand

In defense of my country, my family, my home

The blade of the heart now warms my hand

And then I know I’m not alone.

Candles blaze onward to the starless night,

Impossible to extinguish them all;

And now I make my stand, to fight,

And the ancient battle-cry I call.

My soul warms the chill with its pale fire

The blade ne’er wielded by mortal hand

And then to face the black-hearted liar

Who made me fall across this strand.

Glory is within my reach

And each second my coming death-song sings;

The dark one can never find what he’ll seek,

Ne’er touch my soul, even as it flies on unfettered wings.

