Tags

, , , , ,

This is the story of the silver carp that appeared in a previous post.

One day last August, Iris and some friends of ours and I were out canoeing.

This is the enormous silver carp that jumped into Iris's sister's canoe when we were canoeing this past fall.

This is the enormous silver carp that jumped into Iris’s sister’s canoe when we were canoeing this past fall.

While we were canoeing, our chaperone overturned one of the two kayaks that were out there.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

While we were making our way back to shore, we heard a sudden splash.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I glanced over my shoulder, and saw a silvery flash leap into Iris’s sister’s canoe (which she was sharing with another girl.) The fish almost landed in Miss Other Person’s lap!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Of course, after that, we all paddled back to shore as quickly as we could hack it, sending up bow waves all over the place and occasionally splashing each other like crazy.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As I jumped out of Iris’ and my canoe, I completely soaked my feet and ankles and shoes. I didn’t care. I was too excited.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I ran over to Iris’s sister’s and Other Person’s canoe and helped to pull them up on the bank. The thing flopped about in the canoe and Other Person almost stepped on it while getting out. Then we pulled it up the rest of the way and had a good look at it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

IT WAS HUGE. It was a little longer than the space between two of the support struts of the canoe, and though none of us was carrying a tape measure (note to self; add this important piece of gear to nature pack!!!), it was at least two feet long!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We stood around on the bank for a bit, talking about what to do with it. Iris suggested that we find some way of taking it home to her family to make fish sticks out of, but we didn’t have the facilities to do so (besides, none of us had hunting or fishing permits!!!) So, in the end, we wound up deciding to throw it back.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

That posed its own set of problems. The stupid fish just kept on swimming back into the canoe, which we had slid halfway back into the water and semi-capsized. It swam back into that darn canoe three freaking times!!! In the end, I wound up wetting my already wet feet even more in order to get a paddle to our chaperone, so she could push the idiot fish back out into the lake.

And that’s how it ended. We drained the canoe out, rinsed the paddle, and there’s my one big fish story of my lifetime. I even have the photos to prove it. 😀

Thanks for reading, and God Bless!

