Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

NOOOOOOO!!! NOT THE PSYCHOTIC, OVERSTUFFED ORANGE SOFA CUSHION! HELP!

SAVE ME!!!

SAVE ME!!!

Er… ahem.

Yes, this post is about children’s shows. It’s partially in protest. Totally unfair to dogs. I mean, here we have the Hound of the Baskervilles…

HOUND

The Hound, from “The Hounds of Baskerville”, the BBC Sherlock episode

And our dog Diamond, who was absolutely awesome (until we had to put him down; he was old & had cancer…)

Our late Labrador Retriever, Diamond Bulrush.

Our late Labrador Retriever, Diamond Bulrush.

And I need not even mention Lassie, Old Yeller, Ananda, etc….

But on PBS, the only dogs to be found are horrendously flour-sack shaped Martha and the prodigiously overweight Ruff Ruffman.

What gives?!

That’s not the only point, though.

These shows are supposed to be entertainment. Oh, we’re entertained all right. Entertained that anyone (except, of course, for Raya, who has no taste whatsoever) could really like these shows. The plot lines are sickening. They’re full of tired cliches. Cute, maybe. But not educational.

The long-lamented Redwall is one show which I would consider was not a miss. I used to like PBS shows, some of them. But that was before the common era. And before I really learned to think.

Please, let’s have our kids read, rather than watch more TV. Have them write–even if it means writing fanfic (gasp! :-P). Have them go outside and play.

I couldn’t care less that the Republicans were going to reduce government aid to PBS. I’d rather go ride my bike. Who knows, maybe someday I’ll be able to get into the ladies’ equivalent of the Tour de France!

Rant over. You can go on with your lives now. 😛

