Tags

, , , , , , ,

You have missed out if you haven’t seen the movie Monsters, Inc.

And now it’s gone the way of movies and spawned a prequel.

Huzzah.

Monsters University is supposed to tell the story of how the infamous duo–Mike Wazowski and James P. Sullivan (does the P stand for Patrick? The world may never know…) and how they got where they are in Monsters, Inc. It’s kind of funny, and you get to see a different side of the two protagonists, but if you ask me, it’s not very enjoyable, if you’re a hard-core Monsters, Inc. fan. It’s disorienting…

Mike is the determined team leader who desperately wants to be a scarer; he’s less selfish than he was in the original movie. Randal has glasses and just wants to be everyone’s friend. Sully is the rich, obnoxious kid who thinks he can get away with not studying.

Seriously?! What the…. *coughs* happened here?!

Now, for the parts I liked: Mike as a little, lonely kid. But the story struck me as just a tad underdeveloped, though I thought that Sully tampering with the simulation so Mike could win was a great plot twist. And the climax was great, though the action leading up to it could’ve been better.

Also, the plot reminded me suspiciously of The Pixie Hollow Games.

But, all in all, it was a fair movie, though I wouldn’t really call it great. I watched it once, but I’d have to be bored to tears before I watched it again–and even then, I’d be watching it for the other characters, not the main ones. I might not even watch it unless I had no other choices.

So, I’m giving it 2 out of 5 stars. But if you enjoyed it, what the heck! Go ahead and enjoy it! This is just my opinion, not a dictate to the universe in general. ;-P

Thanks for reading, and God Bless!

