Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

*blushes* Oh, sorry, I didn’t mean you, my dear readers.

I just got mad at Qui-Gon and Obi-Wan because they’re getting on each other’s nerves (not a rare occurrence) and they’re having a shouting match (a very rare occurrence!)

And I don’t even know how it started!

Ahem.

Anyway, I think that now is a very good time to address a Point of Importance: *takes a deep breath and holds it* Get ready, here it comes…

*exhales suddenly and says all in one breath*

NotevenMr.Perfectisrightallthetime!

What? You want me to repeat that? Okay.

Not even the main character can be right all the time. *glares at Obi-Wan and Qui-Gon* Nobody’s perfect… *mutters under breath* especially not you two!

Only a Mary Sue would be as trite as to be perfect and always on the right side (okay, for the nitpickers: the author’s side!) all the time. Only a Sith (or somebody worse) deals in absolutes… because nobody is perfect. (Of course, there are absolute morals, absolute-right-and-wrong, that sort of thing, but that’s not what we’re talking about here.) And Mary Sues are even more worse than Sith. Hey, even villains don’t ruin the book! After all, they make the story in the first place! From a certain point of view (aka, Moriarty’s.)

(Wow. Referencing Star Wars twice in one paragraph and then Sherlock… I must need coffee.)

So? you ask.

So, sometimes the characters must be in the wrong! You heard me. In. The. Wrong!

I don’t care if you have a loving husband and wife blowing off steam by getting into a shouting match (as long as I get fair warning enough to grab my earplugs! :-P), or two friends getting into an annoying argument about which one of them is a heretic (though they may not be an ingrained and sinful one; there is such a thing as accidental heresy… though I’m not sure the Catechism of the Catholic Church calls it that… GAH! I forget the term! Don’t rush me! Oh, sorry. Caffeine-starved, again.), or a couple of stupid people just shouting for the sake of shouting (hey, they’re more evil than the rest of the bunch!–Shut up, Kysherin, this is my blog! Erin’s blog! NOT the annoying deadbeat muse’s!)

Sorry about that. Sometimes the voices… we’ll call them in my head though they’re really in my mind palace–won’t shut up. Last night, Anakin was wandering around singing “We are never ever ever getting back together!” And I asked him if Padme had ditched him, but it turns out he was just singing the song because he liked it… ah, lovebirds. Deceptive lovebirds, but lovebirds all the same. He was singing “A Whole New World” from Aladdin to Padme as I left.

Anyway, so, to recap: Don’t be afraid to have people in the wrong. Let them argue over nothing at all. Even if you’re writing a sappy, sugary, asinine little allegory, your characters will not come across as such if you let them argue and fight over nothing at all just because they’re grumpy, mad, or have low blood sugar.

Have fun with the battles!

Authors are all high-functioning sociopaths… they call us high-functioning because we limit our murders to fictional people.

Thanks for stopping by, and God Bless!

