Tags

, , , ,

Okay, I know I’m supposed to be working on Nanowrimo, but I can’t get over the fact of how amazing my new blog icon looks, up in the corner of its little tab like that… Besides, I need to post something every once in a while, even during Nano. ;-P

I was watching Beauty and the Beast again with the little one, to notice something I’ve never seen before.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love this movie (especially the soundtrack, but I’m weird) to death, but it plays free with a LOT of stuff. Artistic license only goes so far. It’s not apparent (it doesn’t bother you) while you’re in the midst of watching the movie, but after you’ve finished, it becomes glaringly obvious.

Tell me, has anyone else noticed how Belle’s sleeves in the blue jumper/white shirt combo seem to switch from short, to three-quarter, to full-length? It’s only a little thing, but it bothers me.

Added to that, I don’t like that they portray her dad as some genius with no practical sense, and, historically, there could be no valid wedding without the banns announced three times, months in advance. (For those who are wondering, the banns are an announcement to anyone who knows of any impediment to the wedding of which the wedding party themselves are not aware, or to forever hold their silence. It’s meant to take the load off the people who have to research the reasons for an annulment by taking away the necessity for an annulment. And an annulment is not divorce. An annulment is basically a declaration that the marriage was never valid in the first place.)

I know some people don’t really find it amusing that I watch movies so critically, but these things bother me. Am I a perfectionist? Probably.

It’s a pity Disney doesn’t have more perfectionists.

