Tags

, , , , , , , ,

This morning, I sat down to attempt to organize the future scenes of “The Hero’s Dream” into some semblance of order so that the story’s future will not be total non sequitur. Almost nine hours later, very little success.
What in the name of the Force is going on here?!
Well, I believe this deserves an explanation… You see, I have a habit of writing my stories… somewhat… backwards. Of course, I am a somewhat “backwards” person. Erin Kalana Kenobi II writes her stories out of order, basing them from scenes and cut-and-pasting until they make sense and she has a real plot. I believe in writing with a passion, because otherwise some of your dialogue won’t be worth keeping.
Of course, this also means that the editing stage is a bear. As in, the giant roaring Kodiak spirit bear that will come to haunt you if you don’t whole-heartedly sacrifice your entire manuscript on the altar to Stevenson, Tolkien, Lewis and the rest. Because, after all, it’s not your story. It doesn’t belong to you. It writes itself, and uses you to write it. IT owns YOU. So dash on ahead! You are free to write out of order and then cut and paste it into a novel as long as you’re willing to tackle the editing stage. And if you like the results, the story may begin to make you some money– after all, it’s the best it can do, after using you like that, day after day. Who said writing was easy?! Liar. They should eat their dictionary.
Sometimes, I find that my characters understand me even better than I do myself. As you all probably know by now, I am a proficient author of fanfiction (probably mostly drivel), and because not everyone is likely to understand me if I say that Jay has my anger issues, and at the same time helps me to control them, I’ll use other characters to make the point.
For instance, there is Obi-Wan in the corner over there. He never speaks up very often, but occasionally acts up, and then Qui-Gon always says it’s a sight to be seen, and they should sell tickets to the bloodthirsty mob of Coruscant’s underbelly. Obi-Wan is like my more sane side, and at the same time he’s my scientific, calculating, somewhat unfeeling side. We all know the feeling. Like he’s been hanging out with Sherlock too much. The one Season Two Clone Wars episode where they have the brain worm thingies and Obi-Wan grabs one… Five seconds later…
“Anakin, NO! I was going to STUDY that!”
“Study the bottom of my boot.”
Decorum, gentlemen. And show a little common courtesy, Anakin.
Obi-Wan likes to play it safe, but sometimes curiosity gets the better of common sense. And sometimes it’s stubbornness that gets his goat, but my dad is not as patient as Master Jinn.
Ahsoka is like my spunky and brave side. She gets scared sometimes, but it still doesn’t stop her from speaking her mind and doing her duty. She’s good with the Younglings, and (shhh! Don’t tell Tarkin!) such a sweetheart!!!
Qui-Gon… he’s patient, even more so than Obi-Wan. Obi-Wan is patient through long practice. Qui-Gon is patient by nature, and not too “flashy”, but reliable. His pupil bodes well to outstrip him, but in the end, the student follows in the master’s footsteps, and chooses to fade into the background and out of the spotlight, which is left to Anakin. Pity Ani never learned THAT particular lesson.
Padme and Shmi are the moms, and Padme is the faithful wife. But Padme has a mind of her own, and nothing keeps her down for long. Leia is the precocious Princess, and Luke the unassuming savior. I must admit, I’ve always felt more in tune with Luke than Leia. Mine is a curious breed of romanticism– I don’t like flirting or love stories so much, because passion is overrated. But I DO NOT BELIEVE THAT CHIVALRY IS DEAD. So there.
And there’s Merlin, trying to perfect the spell that will give Mace Windu a pink wig out of nowhere. Merlin is like my wild side. When I stop at a stop light and someone behind me is being a rude and inconsiderate driver and part of the reason I stopped was because it will make a point, and possibly annoy them, that’s Merlin. Did I mention that I wish I had magic, if only to be able to prank my three-year old sister Raya? Obi-Wan says that Merlin reminds him of Qui-Gon, what with Merlin always bringing in strays, and maybe he’s right. Though Merlin’s carefree attitude is… well, let’s say it’s not CURRENTLY Qui-Gon’s jurisdiction.
Gaius. Gaius has sense, and is smart, and probably my favorite character other than Merlin. Gaius’s gruff exterior might be enough to turn some people off, but inside he has a heart of gold. You know what they say about how the mentor must have something in common with the student? Well, they do. Both of my mentor/student groups (Obi-Wan and Qui-Gon and Merlin and Gaius) share a strong sense of right and wrong and a LOT of determination. But a mentor and pupil must also complement each other. Both Qui-Gon/Obi-Wan and Gaius/Merlin are very much polar opposites. Where Obi-Wan and Merlin are impetuous and impatient, Qui-Gon and Gaius are cautious. Where Merlin is… *ahem* flighty, Gaius is considerate. Where the youngsters lack experience, the elders are competent. Where Obi-Wan sees the future in his dreams, Qui-Gon moves the future forward in the present. They compliment each other. And though the path is rough, they help each other along. And eventually, the student winds up teaching the master something.
Frodo is my quiet side, and Sam is my determination to fight injustice, however humble I am. I believe that you can learn a lot about the author from the lives, personalities, and interactions of the characters in his or her stories, and the author’s hidden personality speaks through his characters. We authors tend to be a bit of a reticent lot– probably due to censure and misunderstandings from the circles we move in. Which, unfortunately, are not always inhabited by kindred spirits. However, read a writer’s work, and in a sense, you’re reading his soul. This is something he worked and sweated and cried over, good reader! So have the grace to be at least a little merciful. On the other hand, authors (at least the good ones) tend to be perfectionists, and we thrive on feedback. In the end, kind-hearted but honest criticism is healthy.
Mmmmm… *stares blankly into mug* I’m out of mint tea. It wouldn’t be such a problem, if I didn’t put it on the shopping list every other week. And Mom teases Dad about his coffee habit… I should probably be glad I’m off the radar!!!!! What is it with writers and caffeine…? Never mind… I probably don’t want to know.

